Campus Notes
August 2005

pictured above: Erin Burdette, Alice Barnes, Cristelle Grier, Audra Cohen

The 2005 ITA Collegiate All-Star Team consists of: Loli Aguirre Gomez (Lee College), Alice Barnes, Erin Burdette, KC Corkery & Sam Warburg (Stanford), Caroline Basu, Shadisha Robinson, John Isner & Antonio Ruiz (Georgia), Megan Bradley (Miami), Audra Cohen & Cristelle Grier (Northwestern), Julie Coin (Clemson), Lindsay Hagerman (Washington & Lee), Jing Jing Liu (BYU-Hawaii), Larikah Russell (Southern Nazarene), Zuzanna Zemenova & Benedikt Dorsch (Baylor), Dante Cipulli (Southwest Baptist), Ryler DeHeart (Illinois), Sam Fletcher (Azusa Pacific), Alex Gonzales (Laredo), Scott Green & Ross Wilson (Ohio State), Matt Seeberger (UC-Santa Cruz). The team will be honored at the West Side Tennis Club during the week of the U.S. Open Qualifying (conflicts are not a problem since Megan Bradley, a recent graduate who is now on the pro tour, was the only one of the group given a wildcard into the U.S. Open Qualifying.)

* * *

Coaching Changes:
After a summer of "musical coaches" that has rivaled all others, I am bowing to the experts. For a complete list of the new Head Coaches, see the ITA Website. Here are some new Assistant Coaches (which are not listed on that site):
-Former Duke standout Ramsey Smith is returning to that school as Assistant Coach to the men's team; -Kent Kinnear, an 11 year ATP touring pro who has experience in player development, has been named the new Assistant Men's Coach at Illinois.
* * *

University of Washington Head Men's Coach Matt Anger has been inducted into the USTA Northern California Tennis Hall of Fame. Coach Anger was a three-time All-American at the University of Southern California and then played eight years on the pro tour, earning an ATP singles ranking of high of 23. He has been the coach at Washington for 11 seasons.

* * *

Bill Ozaki, former Director of High Performance Programs and Development in the USTA Southern Section, has been named to the newly created position of Senior Director of Junior and Collegiate Competition.

* * *

Steve Appleton, formerly of Boise State University and currently Micron Technology's CEO, is the winner of the 2005 ITA Achievement Award, presented by Montblanch. He will receive his award during the U.S. Open.

* * *

Kalamazoo Valley Community College has announced plans to drop the Men's Tennis Program. The 2004-05 Coach, Darrell Davies, had recently retired. If you would like to write in protest of the dropping of this program, please contact the following key university personnel: Dr. Marilyn Schnack, President; Michael Collins, VP of College Relations; Dick Shilts, Athletic Director; or Bruce Kocher, VP for Student Services.

* * *

If you have information for Campus Notes
Contact us:E-Mail:
FAX: 516-883-5241


July 2005 Campus Notes

June 2005 Campus Notes

May 2005 Campus Notes

April 2005 Campus Notes

March 2005 Campus Notes

February 2005 Campus Notes

January 2005 Campus Notes








John Isner

Ryler DeHeart

Benedikt Dorsch

Scott Green
& Ross Wilson


Mr. Rebates

Return to:
College And Junior
Tennis Homepage