Campus Notes
September 2003 will be broadcasting four of the ITA national events live this fall. Beginning with the semifinals and finals at the Icy Hot and Riviera/ITA All-American Championships, will use a combination of radio and the internet to bring college tennis to the world as well as Future and Challenger events.

* * *

College tennis national champions were honored all over the country this summer. The town of Davie, Florida, recognized Broward Community College's women's team for winning the NJCAA Division I title; West Palm Beach will honor NAIA champion Northwood women (Florida Governor Jeb Bush sent congratulatory notes to all national champions in his state); The Governor of Hawaii had a reception for BYU-Hawaii's men's and women's teams, the NCAA Division II winners; and Emory's teams, Division III champions, were honored by the Governor of Georgia.

* * *

Amanda Fish, an incoming freshman at Vanderbilt, and Minnesota's Avery Ticer have been named the ITA Summer Circuit Players of the Year. Amanda won three singles title on the circuit and reached the finals of the ITA National Summer Championships. Avery won one championship and reached two finals.

* * *

Gene Sperling was honored as the winner of the 2003 Intercollegiate Tennis Association Achievement Award, presented by Montblanc. Gene was captain of the University of Minnesota team he is currently Senior Fellow For Economic Policy at the Council on Foreign Relations. The ITA Achievement Award has been given out since 1994 as a tribute to past participants in college tennis who have gone on to achieve excellence in their careers.

* * *

Coaching Changes... New coaches for the new season... Jared Luteran-Allegheny Men & Women... Michael Hegarty-Arkansas Women... Jordana Ruggeri-Assumption Women... Brad Dietzel-Augustana Men & Women... Thomas Cooley-Becker Men... Scott Wilkins-Boston College Men... Rocky Jarvis-Brandeis Women... Brad Pearce-BYU Men... Marty Perry-Chicago Men & Women... Mike Morgan-Colby Men & Women... Jay Udwadia-Drake Men... Tyler Gibson-Hartford Men... Donna Lisevick-Hartford Women... Ryan Ray-Indiana State Men... Steve Rodecap-Marquette Men... Kelly Brown-Methodist Women... Chad Braun-Monmouth Men... LeAnn Hagen-Monmouth Women... Eric Allen-North Carolina Wesleyan Men & Women... Rick Harley-Nebraska Wesleyan Men & Women.

* * *

Information on incoming freshman, transfers and players who have left school for the pro circuit is now in our Status Report section.

If you have information for Campus Notes
Contact us:E-Mail:
FAX: 516-796-2854


August 2003 Campus Notes

July 2003 Campus Notes

June 2003 Campus Notes

May 2003 Campus Notes

April 2003 Campus Notes

March 2003 Campus Notes

February 2003 Campus Notes

January 2003 Campus Notes






See the Latest

Zappos Winter 2003 Vertical Banner

Free Shipping + 3 Free Gifts

Click For Free Trial

See the Latest

Return to:
College And Junior
Tennis Homepage